Posted by: Amie | October 15, 2008

I Shall Let the Conservative Speak

If you’ve read my other posts, you’d probably gather that I’m as one friend from my past would suggest, a “flaming liberal.” This is not so….well, not until this campaign.

Recently, due to my support of a certain candidate, I’ve been labeled a lot of things and have been sent messages and emails “concerned” about my “liberal propaganda,” and trying to steer me on the “righteous path” to cast my vote. Seeing as how I don’t believe that God should ever be reduced to, compared to, or even related to an American political party – Republican or Democrat – and that being righteous certainly is a lot more involved than being pro-life (I still hate that term – is anyone “pro-death”?!) and supporting gay rights and opinions thereof, I still believe in separation of church and state. My staunch belief that everything happens as part of a plan willed into existence by The Almighty keeps me from fearing that voting one way or the other will bring about the end of the earth or any other such disaster before its time. That being said, we still have a responsibility to make an educated and open-minded decision about how we place and choose leadership. Politics is, and will always be a dirty business. Certainly some politicians are dirtier than others, but you will never find a candidate or party that represents wholly who you are and your belief system. Being “conservative” (read: Republican) does not denote a certain level of piety nor does being “liberal” (read: Democrat) define one as “ungodly” or a heathen – though some (obviously) may argue…

I’ve always considered myself bipartisan though I’m a registered Democrat today (as I feel I have much more in common with the party’s ideals), when I originally filled out my paper work a few days after I turned 18 in preparation for 2004’s election, I was a Republican (don’t worry – I ‘wrote in’ that year).

Even this year I will not vote straight-ticket as I think it’s shallow to allow party loyalties to control ones ability to be educated and cast his/her vote accordingly. I respect those that can point out flaws in their own party of choice. I respect those that don’t blindly follow the leader, and therefore I have a newfound respect for Kathleen Parker.

Kathleen has appeared on Fox News numerous times on my not-so-favorite The O’Reilly Factor and other programs, and is a syndicated columnist. I have read her jazz before, but I was ever so impressed to see her appearance on the Colbert Report. I actually sat in shock (as apparently most people did) as a Republican conservative asked for the removal of Sarah Palin from the ballot.

Ms. Paker said she recieved 12,000 emails in protest to her article in the National Review (though some, secretly and ‘off the record’ were from Washington in alliance). Parker said, [one email stated] “my mother should have aborted me and left me in a dumpster.”

Harsh words for someone who simply stated what everyone was thinking:

“Finally, Palin’s narrative is fun, inspiring and all-American in that frontier way we seem to admire. When Palin first emerged as John McCain’s running mate, I confess I was delighted. She was the antithesis and nemesis of the hirsute, Birkenstock-wearing sisterhood — a refreshing feminist of a different order who personified the modern successful working mother.

Palin didn’t make a mess cracking the glass ceiling. She simply glided through it.

It was fun while it lasted.

Palin’s recent interviews with Charles Gibson, Sean Hannity, and now Katie Couric have all revealed an attractive, earnest, confident candidate. Who Is Clearly Out Of Her League.

No one hates saying that more than I do. Like so many women, I’ve been pulling for Palin, wishing her the best, hoping she will perform brilliantly. I’ve also noticed that I watch her interviews with the held breath of an anxious parent, my finger poised over the mute button in case it gets too painful. Unfortunately, it often does. My cringe reflex is exhausted.

When Couric pointed to polls showing that the financial crisis had boosted Obama’s numbers, Palin blustered wordily: “I’m not looking at poll numbers. What I think Americans at the end of the day are going to be able to go back and look at track records and see who’s more apt to be talking about solutions and wishing for and hoping for solutions for some opportunity to change, and who’s actually done it?”

If BS were currency, Palin could bail out Wall Street herself.

If Palin were a man, we’d all be guffawing, just as we do every time Joe Biden tickles the back of his throat with his toes. But because she’s a woman — and the first ever on a Republican presidential ticket — we are reluctant to say what is painfully true.

What to do?

McCain can’t repudiate his choice for running mate. He not only risks the wrath of the GOP’s unforgiving base, but he invites others to second-guess his executive decision-making ability. Barack Obama faces the same problem with Biden.

Only Palin can save McCain, her party, and the country she loves. She can bow out for personal reasons, perhaps because she wants to spend more time with her newborn. No one would criticize a mother who puts her family first.

Do it for your country.

Responses

  1. How refreshing. Someone who is actually thinking about her vote. I, too, have been demonized for even thinking about voting for Obama and having the opinion that Palin is out of her league. Thanks.

  2. I think we all have. Just because she has breasts does not I, as a woman, have to support her, and I’m tired of that excuse.

    Thanks for posting : )

  3. Interesting Read! Very detailed blog.
    Thanks for sharing


Leave a Reply

Categories

