Posted by: Amie | October 5, 2008

Pray, Vote, Pray

I recently took a job to beat both boredom and financial helplessness. I work at a kiosk in the mall under my good friend K. I sit around in a depressed stupor as I think about what I SHOULD be doing and what kind of job I SHOULD have, but that’s an entirely different post. I’m thankful, nonetheless, to at least not be bored out of my mind, and my favorite part of the job is definitely people watching.

Yesterday, as K. and I sat and discussed our dislike for Palin and the VP debate, a woman passed by wearing a shirt, that in simple, bold text, said “Pray, vote, pray.” K. and I both looked at each other at the same time and said, “Yep.”

She probably meant it in the “Christian” fashion as she was also sporting a ginormous cross necklace, but it doesn’t mean that the message excludes everyone else.

I remember, back when I attended church, on election day, we’d gather the night before and hold a prayer vigil to “pray in” the new president. People would pray in rotations and come in for a certain time slot and kneel at the altar and say a prayer for the upcoming vote and administration. During the whole 24-hour period someone would be praying for the new president.

Sometimes I get upset that Muslims don’t view things the same way. I’ve always respected the way Muslims put their days on hold to bow five times in reverence to God. It’s one of the many thing that made me fall in love with Islam in the first place. But sometimes I feel when it comes to things like elections (and many other happenings), they mark it off the list as chasing dunya, or something worldly. It is worldly. But until we die, this is our home, and we’re responsible for it as God has entrusted us with the earth.

Many Muslims (citizens) don’t even vote because they feel this is not “their” country and they just don’t care. Of course, they sit around and bitch about how horrible Bush is/has been, but refuse to take responsibility at the polls. Sweetcheeks, if you’ve been here long enough to score citizenship, or were born here in this country, it’s your country or your country as well as home. If you’re trying to make a “statement” by not voting because you disagree with both candidates, you’re still doing something irresponsible.  Say what you will about how the popular vote doesn’t count, but not voting is allowing someone else to do it for you.  If you don’t like either candidate, write someone in. Give Nader a chance. Vote Green party or independent. Just vote. And p.s. – You seriously have zero bitching rights if you were too lazy to walk on over and drop your ballot.

Pray, vote, pray. Pray you vote the right way, get out and vote, and pray others will do the same. It’s not hard, and it’s something we should be doing anyway.

I’m not one to ask others to do it and not do it myself, so I guess you know what I’ll be doing come election day.

Responses

  1. Nice blog. Just an invite for you to check out my blog at obamasprayer.com I also included a poll in regards to the VP debate. You can also access my blog at obamasprayer.wordpress.com

    Thank you.

  2. What rot you do talk though.

    Not voting is saying somthing. Not voting is far more powerful than voting.

    Not voting scares them shitless,
    have you seen how much many they spend trying to get you to vote. Ever wondered why?

    Think about it for awhile, and you will then understand that while some do not vote because they are too lazy or just do not care, for others it is a huge statement of desire and intent.

    Please do not knock them for it.

  3. omgdidisaythat:

    I strongly disagree.

    Thanks, dear, but I have thought about it for longer than “a while” as I’m not someone to just spout mindless blather for shits and giggles.

    Agreed, if EVERYONE decided on November 4th to not show up to the polls, that would be a statement. However, if a handful out of millions of people sit silent in some sort self-justified act of civil disobedience, it does nothing but hand off their votes to the next person in line at the ballot box (as I mentioned).

    You don’t have to vote McCain or Obama – write someone else in! But NOT voting is definitely not the right answer.

    Voting is a privilege (that a lot of countries are denied) and a civil duty, but I can see how some will feel differently. I can understand being apathetic toward politics to a certain point, but when it comes to choosing who will make the laws you are expected to abide and pass bills that directly impact your life – why would you want no say in that?

    Be anti-establishment for whatever reason you desire and don’t vote, but don’t sit around and whine, moan and carry on about how you disagree with a current administration as you did nothing at all to stop it from coming into power.

    Politics is dirty business, and you’ll never find a politician that is 100% backing what you want. You can, however, choose a leader that better suits you and your philosophies – better than others.

    Not voting is not “powerful,” it’s weak. It’s a cop out.

    P.s. I’m saying “you” as a collective “you,” not as in YOU, so please don’t think I assumed anything about you or personally attacked your ideas as I don’t know what they are.

    Thanks for commenting.
    Peace.

  4. Hey Amie,

    Thanks for the reply.

    I will try and frame my point a bit better.

    Firstly though, you are quite right, many people do not vote because they don’t care, or just think the two options are too similar that it won’t make much/any difference, or they live in a state that will support the candidate they don’t want so they think their vote is useless.

    Those people you are completely right about.

    There is though, another group of people, who think in an entirely different way. They do not all agree about everything but one thing they do agree is this;

    The system is fixed. It does not matter who you vote for because the candidates on both sides are carefully chosen for you, and they will not be men/women of their own free will, they will be owned by the people that paid for them to be there.

    That it does not matter if you get obama or mccain, you will be getting the same policies, the same game plan. That they are all on the same team. That a free and fair election is an illusion.

    If you go to the races and you own all the horses, who cares who wins.

    Some people believe it is just a show for the public and that there is no more democracy here than there is in Iran, where you can vote for one of a couple of guys, who are going to do what they are told anyway.

    Now, leaving aside the argument of that being correct or not. If you believe it, and you want to fight what you think is a rigged system, then the obvious peaceful action you can take is not to support the system by voting, and the fact that both sides try so hard to get you to vote shows how important it is to them that people support the system.

    You can criticise obama or mcain until the cows come home , you can insult bush until your dieing breathe, but say a word against the system, well, you are at the very least un-american, or maybe worse, stupid, commie, crazy, nuts and so on.

    I won’t even start on what has happened to some of the people who criticised the system.

    So, for those who do not vote for those reasons, I have respect for.

  5. Ah, I see. Your point is much better defined this time. And I agree with those that, in fact, our freedom, in general, is shrinking.

    If one wants to be anti-establishment, I can’t blame them, really. But we have what we have right now, and I thoroughly believe that being involved in any way you can help change things. Voting, in my opinion, is a small contribution to a large solution, but it’s the very least one can do.

    There is of course lobbying, demonstrating, having a louder voice, but I believe being politically active until we have a government that’s for the people, by the people, like it’s supposed to be.

    In the words of V (From V for Vendetta): People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.

    We’re not a democracy, though we parade around the earth forcing our “democracy” on “barbaric” nations.

    I could go on and on about that ridiculous notion…

    Thanks for the comments, and thanks for the debate!

    Cheers.

  6. Thank you Amie, see you on Nov 5th 😉

  7. Indeed 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

